Wildflowers

An excerpt from the novel Meeting Dennis Wilson by Max Harrick Shenk

1398410_406444749484130_390119278_o…I kept thinking of Annie Pierce’s advice from the lunch line –“Why not spend the drycleaning money and get Christy extra flowers?”– and I realized that, even if Dad had given me a ride, we could’ve swung by Valley Florist or even the A&P and I could have snagged some flowers, any flowers, for Christy.

As that thought crossed my mind, I was at the corner where I turned left to go back toward Buford Circle and the Kellys’ house. I wiped a line of sweat from my forehead (it wasn’t even that warm out, and I could still feel the sweat dripping down my back and butt crack), and as I took a breath, I looked to my right, down the short dead-end street abutting the farmer’s field, where the asphalt turned to dirt and that dirt sprouted a wild spread of buttercups, dandelions, Queen Anne’s lace, purple cornflowers, Black-eyed Susans…

Another thing I fucked up, I thought as I walked down McCormick Street and then turned up into Buford Circle with the wildflower bouquet clutched in my fist. Annie said buy Christy flowers, and here I am, tromping over there with these crappy looking weeds, which I’m getting all wilty with my sweaty palms… if I’d thought of it sooner, I could’ve picked some real flowers from the back yard, or gone back to our fort and gotten some honeysuckle, which would have meant something more to Christy than this crappy, cheap-looking, thrown-together, picked-on-the-fly, quote-bouquet-end quote…

But when I hit the Kellys’ doorbell and the door opened almost immediately, Christy saw the small wildflower bouquet and pushed the screen door open, leaning down to hug me hard.

“Awwww, baby!” she whispered. “You are so sweet.”

And what did I say as she squeezed me?

“I knew you’d like them.”


“Today marks the day that I officially add Meeting Dennis Wilson to my ‘Favorite Coming of Age Books’ list. I adore John Green and his work [and] I fell in love with this book just as easily as I fell in love with Paper Towns or An Abundance of Katherines. Meeting Dennis Wilson can easily be compared to a teenager who’s just coming of age: awkward, quirky, hilarious, and loads of fun to be around.Meeting Dennis Wilson is incredibly comical, sweet, and ultimately feel-good.”
(The Literary Connoisseur)

All seven books - best.jpg

Meeting Dennis Wilson is available in both softcover print and Kindle editions, in either seven serialized installments or as an omnibus edition gathering all seven books.

Click here to order these books in print or kindle edition from Amazon. 

One thought on “Wildflowers

Leave a Reply

