Eva reviews: “I Love My New Toy” (An Elephant and Piggie Book)

love_my_new_toyI Love My New Toy (An Elephant and Piggie Book) by Mo Willems

The publisher says… Gerald is careful. Piggie is not.
Piggie cannot help smiling. Gerald can.
Gerald worries so that Piggie does not have to.
Gerald and Piggie are best friends.

In I Love My New Toy!, Piggie can’t wait to show Gerald her brand new toy. But will an accidentally broken toy accidentally break a friendship?

Eva says… So here’s Gerald and Piggie again, and this time Piggie has a new toy, and when Elephant plays with it, guess what? He BREAKS it. And I guess I’d be like Piggie if MY new toy broke, even if it was my best friend who broke it. MAD and SAD and YELLING.
i-love-my-toy-p31
And I don’t want to give away the ending, but Piggie gets over it. And you know who helps? A SQUIRREL!
And that’s one of the things I like about this guy’s books. Is that he brings other animals into the story. And you know, he’s not doing Elephant and Piggie books anymore, so maybe he could do a couple with that squirrel. Or maybe a FOX. I’d say do BEARS but EVERYBODY does books about them. Except you know what? I bet if this guy did books about bears, they’d be different and real funny, which a lot of bear books aren’t. They just show them hibernating or eating honey.
So I might send Mo Willems a letter and tell him to do that.
Anyway this is another great Elephant and Piggie one and I’m glad I haven’t read ALL of them, because there aren’t going to be any new ones.
And that’s another thing for this guy to think about.

Eva’s rating: ♥♥♥♥♥ (out of five )

I Love My New Toy by Mo Willems. Published by Disney-Hyperion. ISBN 978-1423109617

 


Eva Kelly is this blog’s six-year-old resident children’s book critic. 

Click below to read more of her reviews…

on this blog, or…

on her Goodreads page, or…

Cover front finalEva Kelly’s Book Of Book Reviews 

is now available in print!

120+ children’s book reviews written by avid reader Eva Kelly (with help from her parents and author Max Harrick Shenk).

Click here for more information.

Leave a Reply

