The compilation challenge

Beatles-album-cover-014.jpgHow many artists can you think of who would pass the following test: a 14-song “greatest hits” compilation consisting entirely of songs that were never released on singles, but that most casual fans would be familiar with?

I can only think of one artist who would pass this test: the Beatles.

Every one of the following Beatles songs is probably familiar to people who aren’t fans of their music, yet none of them was issued as a single originally in the USA or UK. Some of these songs, in fact, might be more “popular” by some standards (airplay, number of artists who have covered them) than some of the Beatles’ hit singles. Several of them have already appeared on Beatles compilations like 1962-1966 and 1967-1970.

My rules for inclusion: original songs only, no covers (so no “Money” or other popular Beatles album track cover songs); songs were not issued on a 45 in the USA or UK between 1962 and 1970 (yes, I know, Beatles geeks, being one myself, that a few of these tracks were later released on FOR JUKEBOXES ONLY limited edition 45s in the USA several years back; those don’t count). And I tried to think of songs that most music fans would probably know as well as (if not better than) the group’s hit singles.

Here’s my track listing. If you can think of one for another artist (I’ll cut you a break and let you include only ten songs on your compilation), post it in the comments. Good luck.

In My Life
Norwegian Wood
Michelle
Girl
Taxman
With A Little Help From My Friends
Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds
A Day In The Life
When I’m Sixty Four
Back in the USSR
Birthday
While My Guitar Gently Weeps
Here Comes The Sun
Octopus’s Garden

 

 

Leave a Reply

